About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us

Trophy Awards

Close the Gap

[return to collegeinsider.com]

March 3, 2014

BOSTON (MA) -- Delaware's Jarvis Threatt earns the Lou Henson award national player of the week honors.

After missing eight games due to injury, the 6-foot-2 junior returned last week to help Delaware to a 2-0 week. In his first game back he had 24 points, 6 assists and 4 steals. 17 of those points came in the second half. On Saturday he had 13 points, 13 assists, 6 rebounds and 5 assists, helping the Blue Hens wrap up the CAA regular season championship.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball.

The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.


Week 17 (March 3) Jarvis Threatt (Delaware)
Week 16 (Feb. 24) Umar Shannon (Quinnipiac)
Week 15 (Feb. 17) Jeff Mullahey (Troy)
Week 14 (Feb. 10) Davon Usher (Delaware)
Week 13 (Feb. 3) Maurice Ndour (Ohio) and  Alan Williams (UCSB)
Week 12 (Jan. 27) Keifer Sykes (Green Bay)
Week 11 (Jan. 20) Julius Brown (Toledo)
Week 10 (Jan. 13) Tyler Haws (BYU)
Week 9 (Jan. 6) Keifer Sykes (Green Bay)
Week 8 (Dec. 30) Javon McCrea (Buffalo)
Week 7 (Dec. 23) D.J. Irving (Boston University)
Week 6 (Dec. 16) Marshall Bjorklund (North Dakota State)
Week 5 (Dec. 9) Isiah Umipig (Seattle)
Week 4 (Dec. 2) Sidney Sanders Jr. (Fairleigh Dickinson)
Week 3 (Nov. 25) Jeremy Ingram (North Carolina Central)
Week 2 (Nov. 18) J.J. Mann (Belmont)
Week 1 (Nov. 11) Kendrick Perry (Youngstown State)

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace All-America Team
Kay Yow Award
Mid-Major Freshmen All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive Player of the Year
Mid-Major Freshman of the Year
National Most Valuable Player
Mid-Major Most Valuable Player
All-Conference Honors
Copyright © 2011 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.

Buy Final Four tickets and BCS Championship tickets at ABC ticket broker as well as Penn State football tickets and Philadelphia Eagles tickets.





Need to go to the football game? You can find college football tickets at TicketStub.com. Experience the game at your favorite stadium.