Spike TV

Jim Phelan Coach of the Year Award
Hugh Durham Coach of the Year Award
The Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award
2008 Runway to the Fashionable 4 -- San Antonio, TX




2008 Skip Prosser Award

2008 CollegeInsider.com Awards




April 4, 2008
OFFICIAL WEBSITE: SkipProsserAward.com
2008 Prosser Award Finalists
PRESS RELEASE: Award Established
THE AWARD: Download the 2008 Award

BIOGRAPHY: Skip Prosser Bio (PDF)
Mike Brey is the recipient of the 2008 Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award presented by CollegeInsider.com.BOSTON (MA) -- After leading Notre Dame to another outstanding campaign, Notre Dame head coach Mike Brey has been selected as the recipient of the inaugural Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award.

“This is an amazing honor and I am extremely flattered to receive the first Skip Prosser Award,” says Brey. “It is so important to remember Skip and the way he carried himself as a coach. He was the type of man you wanted your son to play for. He embodied everything that is good about college basketball.”

The award, which is named in memory of former Wake Forest head coach Skip Prosser who passed away suddenly on July 26, 2007, will be given annually to the division I head coach who best represent the high standards of the coaching profession. Winning with integrity.

The Skip Prosser Award is voted on by a 21-member selection panel, which includes current and former head coaches, athletic administrators and media members, including ESPN analyst and longtime friend, Jay Bilas.

“This award is the perfect way to honor Skip and the principles he lived every day, and to honor the coaches that share those values and live them every day,” Bilas says. “He respected the game and all that played it, and always had things in the proper perspective. Skip Prosser was one of the good guys, and he would be the first to say that he was not alone there.”

Picked ninth in the Big East, Brey led Notre Dame to a second place finish with a 14-4 conference record. That 14 conference wins are the most for the Irish since joining the Big East (1995-96). Overall, Notre Dame finished 25-8, which was one victory short of the school record for wins set in 1973-74, when they went 26-3.

Notre Dame closed out the 2007-08 regular season by winning 11 of its final 13 games and finished with 24 regular-season victories, the most regular-season wins by an Irish team under Brey and most since 1973-74 (24-5 regular season). This season the Irish advanced to the second round of the NCAA tournament for the first time since 2003.

This Notre Dame was once again very impressive at home. The Irish finished 17-0 at home this season and ran their Joyce Center home win streak to 37 games, the second longest active streak nationally and just one shy of the school's all-time home win streak. The Irish also have won 18 consecutive Big East games at the Joyce Center, a mark that that is just two shy of the conference's all-time home court win streak (20 games held by Pittsburgh).

Brey’s team made Big East history this season when they completed their second straight season undefeated at home. It marked the first time in the 40-year history of the Joyce Center that an Irish team has been undefeated at home in consecutive campaigns and the first time in conference history that a Big East team has gone undefeated at home in back to-back seasons.

The Skip Prosser Man of the Year AwardWith 25 wins the Irish have reached the 20-win mark for the fifth time in eight seasons and second consecutive year under head coach Mike Brey.

Brey is in his eighth season as the Irish head coach and owns a 166-85 record.

“We could not be more excited to have coach Brey win the inaugural Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award, says Mark Prosser, an assistant at Bucknell University and son of the late Skip Prosser. “Coach Brey is a man of great integrity that continues to succeed with student athletes that conduct themselves with high moral character, and it just so happens that he was a great friend of my father. We are truly honored to have coach Mike Brey accept this award.”

Brey was one of ten finalists for the award, which include Rick Byrd (Belmont), Seth Greenberg (Virginia Tech), Frank Haith (Miami), Trent Johnson (Stanford), Bob McKillop (Davidson), Sean Miller (Xavier), Matt Painter (Purdue), Bo Ryan (Wisconsin) and Gary Waters (Cleveland State).

The Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award was established by CollegeInsider.com and the Prosser family.



Just College Sports