

www.LouHenson.com

March 9, 2023



THE 2023 LOU HENSON AWARD FINALISTS

BOSTON, MA -- The finalists for the 2022-23 Lou Henson National Player of the Year award were announced on Thursday.

The award is presented annually to the top mid-major player in division I college basketball and honors the former Illinois and New Mexico State head coach who won 775 games in 41 seasons.

Henson is the winningest coach in Illinois basketball history with 423 victories. During his 21 seasons (1975-1996), Henson led the Fighting Illini to 16 postseason appearances, including 12 NCAA tournaments and a Final Four appearance in 1989.

Henson, who is also the all-time winningest coach in New Mexico State history with 289 victories, is one of only 11 coaches to take two different schools to the NCAA Final Four. His teams have made 19 NCAA appearances and four NIT appearances.

Players on teams from the following conferences are eligible for the award: America East, ASUN, Big

Sky, Big South, Big West, Colonial, Horizon, Ivy, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, MEAC, Missouri Valley, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Patriot, Southern, Southland, SWAC, Summit, Sun Belt, WAC, West Coast.

The recipient of the 2023 award will be announced in March, in Houston site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

2022-23 LOU HENSON AWARD FINALISTS

Max Abmas	6-0	Oral Roberts
Dalton Bolon	6-4	Charleston
Mike Bothwell	6-3	Furman
Jordan Brown	6-11	Louisiana
Joe Bryant Jr.	6-1	Norfolk State
Sincere Carry	6-1	Kent State
Walter Clayton Jr.	6-2	Iona
Austin Crowley	6-5	Southern Miss
Antoine Davis	6-1	Detroit
RayJ Dennis	6-2	Toledo
Tucker DeVries	6-7	Drake
Jordan Dingle	6-3	Penn
Aaron Estrada	6-4	Hofstra
Logan Johnson	6-2	Saint Mary's
Tevian Jones	6-7	Southern Utah
Taevion Kinsey	6-5	Marshall
Ryan Larson	6-1	Charleston
Darius McGhee	5-9	Liberty
Ajay Mitchell	6-4	UCSB
Drew Pember	6-11	UNC Asheville
Dylan Penn	6-3	Vermont
Brandin Podziemski	6-5	Santa Clara
Tucker Richardson	6-5	Colgate
Cam Shelton	6-2	Loyola Marymount
DeMarcus Sharp	6-3	Northwestern State
Ben Sheppard	6-6	Belmont
JT Shumate	6-7	Toledo
Jalen Slawson	6-7	Furman
Marques Warrick	6-2	Northern Kentucky
Chris Youngblood	6-4	Kennesaw State

