Home  |  History  |  Contact    

The CIT on Facebook Live


FEB. 15, 2017
The 2017 CollegeInsider.com Postseason Tournament to be broadcast through Facebook Live
10 Division I Athletic Directors form the CIT Selection Committee
BOSTON, MA --- The 2017 CollegeInsider.com Postseason Tournament (CIT) will broadcast live on Facebook. 
At least 22 CIT games will be broadcast exclusively through Facebook Live, including all first round, second round and quarterfinal matchups. This enables the CIT to bring the excitement of postseason basketball to Facebook’s global community of sports fans, which includes more than 650 million people connected to at least one sports Page on the platform.
“We are excited to have the opportunity to showcase the CIT on Facebook,” said Joe Dwyer, President of College Insider, Inc. “This is the future of live sporting events and another step forward for the CIT.”
Among the featured games will be the 2nd Annual Coach John McLendon Classic, which was created in 2016 to showcase one or more historically Black Colleges and Universities. It’s inclusion in the 2016 CIT marked the first time in NCAA history that a ‘Classic’ was included as part of a postseason tournament. 
Now in its’ ninth year, the CIT has had more schools make their postseason debut (25) and more programs win their first-ever postseason game (29) than all other tournaments combined during the eight seasons since the CIT was established in 2009.
The CIT has also produced three NBA Lottery picks and two Top 10 selections in Weber State’s Damian Lillard (6th overall in 2012) and UL Lafayette’s Elfrid Payton (10th overall in 2014). When Lillard was named the 2012 NBA Rookie of the Year it marked the first time since 1955 that a tournament, other than the NCAA Tournament, had produced the NBA Rookie of the Year.
A 10-member selection committee, consisting of current Division I athletic directors, will select the field. The field will be officially announced on Sunday March 12 and the first round will begin on Monday, March 13. 
The CIT Semifinals and Championship will be broadcast on CBS Sports for the fifth consecutive year. 
The CIT Selection Committee consists of 10 current NCAA Division I Athletic Directors
Kevin Blue, UC Davis
Wheeler Brown, Jackson State
Jim Donovan, Cal State Fullerton
Joel Erdmann, South Alabama
Kelley Hartley Hutton, Fort Wayne
Lenny Kaplan, NJIT
Eugene Marshall, Jr., Hampton
Ed McLaughlin, VCU
Jim Paquette, Loyola MD
Peter Pilling, Columbia
CollegeInsider.com was founded in 1996 with their online coverage dedicated exclusively to college basketball.  In 1998, CollegeInsider.com created the Mid-Major Top 25 that has become the measuring stick for teams outside the power conferences and is now trademarked.  Each year, CollegeInsider.com presents 17 national awards in basketball named after some of the greatest coaches in the history of the game including Clarence "Big House" Gaines, Lou Henson, John McLendon and Lute Olson.   CollegeInsider.com has been nominated for four Emmy Awards and in 2013 won the New York Emmy Award in Sports Coverage for the Sportscast/Series category and was selected over top broadcast outlets such as MSG and SNY.
Media Inquiries
Game, Inc.
Jason Belzer


HOME    |    PODCASTS    |    AWARDS    |    TOURNAMENT    |    HISTORY    |    CONTACT

Off the Bounce
Mid-Major Minute
The Corner 3
Beyond the arc
The Episodes
Brian Doyle
Angela Lento
Kevaney Martin
Suzi Mellano
Brian Mull
Brian Stanchak
Coaching Clinics
Coach Columns
Fashionable 4
NCAA Bracket Projections
The Pete Newell Story
Shots from the Heart
Turn Back the Clock
The Top 100

Copyright © 2018 College Insider, Inc. All rights reserved.