About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us

Trophy Awards

Close the Gap

[return to collegeinsider.com]

Feb. 8, 2016

BOSTON (MA) -- UL-Lafayette's Shawn Long and Monmouth's Justin Robinson share the Lou Henson award national player of the week honors.

The 6-foot-9 Long helped the Ragin' Cajuns to a pair of wins last week. On Tuesday he had 28 points and 17 rebounds against UL Monroe. Two days later he had 19 points and 10 rebounds at Appalachian State.

The 5-foot-8 Robinson also helped his team to a pair of wins this past week. Last Monday he had a career-best 36 points at Siena. He also had five rebounds, three assists and three steals. On Friday he had 12 points, nine rebounds, five assists and three steals against Fairfield..

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball.

The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.


Week 13 (Feb. 8) Shawn Long (UL-Lafayetre) & Justin Robinson (Monmouth)
Week 12 (Feb. 1) Nick Faust (Long Beach State)
Week 11 (Jan. 25) Joshua Braun (Grand Canyon)
Week 10 (Jan. 18) Shawn Long (UL Lafayette)
Week 9 (Jan. 11) Alec Peters (Valparaiso)
Week 8 (Jan. 4) Anthony Beane (Southern Illinois) & Chris Hass (Bucknell)
Week 7 (Dec. 28) Jordan Johnson (Milwaukee)
Week 6 (Dec. 21) Kahlil Felder (Oakland)
Week 5 (Dec. 14) Kahlil Felder (Oakland)
Week 4 (Dec. 7) D.J. Balentine (Evansville) & A.J. English (Iona)
Week 3 (Nov. 30) Quincy Ford (Northeastern) & Justin Robinson (Monmouth)
Week 2 (Nov. 23) Kahlil Felder (Oakland)
Week 1 (Nov. 16) Rashun Davis (Radford)

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All-Decade Team
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.