

www.KyleMacyAward.com

March 10, 2021



KYLE MACY NATIONAL FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR FINALISTS

BOSTON, MA -- The Kyle Macy Award finalists were announced on Wednesday.

The Kyle Macy Award, which is presented annually to the top freshman in Division I college basketball, is named for a guard who starred as a freshman for Purdue.

The 1975 Indiana "Mr. Basketball" played his freshman season at Purdue University, averaging 13.8 points per game while leading the Boilermakers in free throws (85.9 percent for the season). He started in 25 of 27 games, helping them to a 16-11 season record.

After playing his freshman year at Purdue, Macy transferred to the University of Kentucky in 1976. He started every game for the Wildcats in 1977. A three-time All-America and three-time All-SEC player, Macy was a member of Kentucky's 1978 National Championship team. In his senior year of 1979-80, he became the first Kentucky player ever to be named consensus Southeastern Conference Player of the Year.

2020-21 KYLE MACY FRESHMEN ALL-AMERICA TEAM

Efe Abogidi	6-10	Washington State
Greg Brown	6-9	Texas
Johni Broome	6-10	Morehead State
Sharife Cooper	6-1	Auburn
Cade Cunningham	6-8	Oklahoma State
Hunter Dickinson	7-1	Michigan
Zach Edey	7-4	Purdue
Dawson Garcia	6-11	Marquette
Wendell Green Jr.	5-11	Eastern Kentucky
Rayshon Harrison	6-4	Presbyterian
Tyree Ihenacho	6-4	North Dakota
Chase Johnston	6-2	Stetson
Dillon Jones	6-6	Weber State
Nelly Junior Joseph	6-9	Iona
Caleb Lohner	6-8	BYU
Kenneth Lofton	6-7	Louisiana Tech
Tramon Mark	6-5	Houston
Evan Mobley	7-0	USC
Bryce Monroe	5-11	Sam Houston
Damari Monsanto	6-6	ETSU
Moses Moody	6-6	Arkansas
Essam Mostafa	6-9	Coastal Carolina
Norchand Omier	6-7	Arkansas State
Ryan Rollins	6-4	Toledo
Jalen Suggs	6-4	Gonzaga
Jahmyl Telfort	6-7	Northeastern
Cam Thomas	6-4	LSU
Marques Warrick	6-2	Northern Kentucky
Marcus Williams	6-7	Wyoming
Jalen Wilson	6-8	Kansas

