

www.HughDurhamAward.com

April 1, 2021



PRAIRIE VIEW A&M'S BYRON SMITH IS THE RECIPIENT OF THE 2021 HUGH DURHAM NATIONAL COACH OF THE YEAR AWARD

BOSTON, MA -- Prairie View A&M head coach Byron Smith is the recipient of the 2021 Hugh Durham award.

Byron Smith led Prairie View A&M to its third consecutive regular season title and an undefeated record in SWAC play at 13-0. The Panthers were one of only three teams in college basketball that were unbeaten in conference play. PVAMU finished 16-5 overall and were ranked No. 25 in the final regular-season Mid-Major Top 25[®].

"This season is just the latest example of Byron Smith's coaching excellence," said Angela Lento Vice President of CollegeInsider.com. "Byron Smith isn't a really good coach at a small school, he's just a really good coach. If he was at a Power 5 program, he would be a household name."

Smith, who is in the midst of the most successful run in program history, was named SWAC coach of the Year for the third straight season. This season he was also a finalist for a total of four national honors, including the Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year award.

The Hugh Durham award, is presented annually to the top Division I mid-major coach in college basketball, is named after a coach who built winning programs at three different universities.

In eight seasons as the head coach at Jacksonville University, Durham became the Dolphins' all-time winningest Division I coach (106 wins), making him the only coach in NCAA history to be the winningest coach (pct. or wins) at three different Division I schools.

He built national programs at Florida State where he holds the record for best winning percentage with a 230-95 (.708) record in 12 years. And at Georgia where he is also the all-time winningest coach in the 99-year history of the Bulldog program, having won 297 games in 17 seasons.

Coaches of teams in the following conferences are eligible for the award: America East, Atlantic Sun, Big Sky, Big South, Big West, Colonial, Horizon, Ivy, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, Mid-Eastern, Missouri Valley, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Patriot, Southern, Southland, Southwestern, Summit, Sun Belt, West Coast.

2020-21 HUGH DURHAM AWARD FINALISTS

Casey Alexander	Belmont
Mark Byington	James Madison
Scott Davenport	Bellarmine
Ed DeChellis	Navy
Darian DeVries	Drake
Dennis Gates	Cleveland State
Joe Golding	Abilene Christian
Jared Grasso	Bryant
A.W. Hamilton	Eastern Kentucky
Terrence Johnson	Texas State
Robert Jones	Norfolk State
Pat Kelsey	Winthrop
Tod Kowalczyk	Toledo
Matt Langel	Colgate
Carmen Maciariello	Siena
Mike Magpayo	UC Riverside
Bashir Mason	Wagner
Ritchie McKay	Liberty
Porter Moser	Loyola Chicago
Wes Miller	UNCG
Paul Mills	Oral Roberts
Joe Pasternack	UCSB
Todd Simon	Southern Utah
BYRON SMITH	PRAIRIE VIEW A&M
Preston Spradlin	Morehead State