

www.BenJobeAward.com

April 1, 2021



## FLORIDA STATE'S LEONARD HAMILTON IS THE RECIPIENT OF THE 2021 BEN JOBE AWARD

BOSTON, MA -- Florida State head coach Leonard Hamilton is the recipient of the 2021 Ben Jobe award.

Leonard Hamilton led Florida State to a second-place finish in the ACC this season. The Seminoles were 11-4 in conference play and earned a trip to the ACC championship game. A No. 4 seed in the NCAA Tournament, FSU advanced to the Sweet 16 and finished with an 18-7 record.

"Coach Hamilton is a first-class person who is revered by his peers," said Angela Lento Vice President of CollegeInsider.com. "On the court, he has completely changed the fortunes of the Florida State basketball program and turned the Seminoles into a perennial contender in the ACC."

One of the most respected coaches in the profession, Hamilton is the winningest coach in Florida State history. He has amassed a 378-228 record in 19 seasons in Tallahassee and is also the fifth winningest coach in ACC history.

The Ben Jobe Award, which is presented annually to the top Division I minority coach, is named in honor of one of the finest men to ever college basketball.

Coach Jobe is an icon in the history of basketball at Historically Black Colleges and Universities. He is best known as the head coach of the Southern University, a position he held for 12 seasons. He was also head coach at Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Talladega, Tuskegee and South Carolina State.

His record at Southern was 209-141 and included four NCAA Tournament appearances. He also coached the Jaguars to one NIT appearance, five SIAC championships, 11 SWAC titles and two NAIA Tournament Championships. Perhaps his most memorable moment as a coach was leading No. 15 seed Southern to a 93-78 win over No. 2 Georgia Tech in the first round of the 1993 NCAA Tournament. It stands as one of the great upsets in the history of the event.

## 2020-21 BEN JOBE AWARD FINALISTS

Mike Boynton
Wayne Brent
Wayne Brent
Jackson State
Morgan State
Usaac Brown
Wichita State
Missouri State
Dennis Gates
LEONARD HAMILTON
Oklahoma State
Jackson State
Morgan State
Wichita State
Cleveland State

Lew Hill UTRGV
Shaheen Holloway Saint Peter's
Juwan Howard Michigan

Stan Johnson Loyola Marymount

Terrence Johnson Texas State
Mike Jones Radford
Robert Jones Norfolk State

Will Jones North Carolina A&T Rob Lanier Georgia State

Shantay Legans Eastern Washington

Mike Magpayo UC Riverside
Bashir Mason Wagner
Ritchie McKay Liberty
Lamont Paris Chattanooga

Richie Riley South Alabama Kelvin Sampson Houston

Shaka Smart

Byron Smith Prairie View A&M

Texas

